Wanikan

3+

A wordless fantasy for toddlers

Wanikan was created within the d-Buut (debut) platform of 4Hoog. Director Jelle Marteel chose consequently for sobriety and quietness. The actors take you along in a suggestive dancing play concerning meeting and parting. One image slides poetically and humorous into the next. Pure simplicity with an alternation of a high slapstick tempo and slow abstract dancing.
 

In the beginning there was nothing.
Just a bit of clutter.
Then suddenly out of nothing came everything.
Everything starts to live.
Everything gets a life.
A boy.
And a girl.
She takes him into a dream.
A dream with sweaters.
Where they love to hide.

  

“It is for young and old a forty minute captivating performance. Magnificent in all its visual and moving meanings."

Tuur Devens, Theatermaggezien

 

 

CREDITS

Concept and directing: Jelle Marteel
Performance: Simon D’Huyvetter or Ezra Fieremans en Julie Kurris or Anjana Dierckx
Coach: Frans Van der Aa

 

JELLE MARTEEL ABOUT WANIKAN

The starting point of the performance was “reality versus dream”. An inquiry of what happens when the dream world ends up in the realm of reality. This inquiry evolved into the creation of an abstract world with surreal aspects. We did not make the distinction anymore between dream and reality.

We sought inspiration in the visual work of Erwin Wurm and the motion pictures of Michel Gondry. We did not seek for a coherent story, but for a wordless sequence of images with characters. But there is only suggestion. No expounding. No defining. Everything remains open for interpretation and ready to be filled with fantasy.

The leitmotif is “meeting” and “parting”. Between characters amongst themselves and characters and objects. I seek a vulnerable style with humour that touches and above all: an exercise in simplicity. Simplicity which is not meaningless, but very intense and rich.

persfotos

foto bestandsnaam filesize  
4hoog_wanikan-3-c-els-deventer.jpg 1 download
4hoog_wanikan-2-c-els-deventer.jpg 1 download
4hoog_wanikan-1-c-els-deventer.jpg 1 download
(2)4hoog_wanikan-5-c-els-deventer.jpg 1 download
4hoog_wanikan-4-c-els-deventer.jpg 1 download

Playlist

vorige

QUOIPASPEUT

3+

Une fantaisie sans paroles pour les tout-petits

 

Wanikan fut créé par le d-Buutplatform de 4Hoog/4Haut. Le metteur en scène, Jelle Marteel, opte logiquement pour le dépouillement et la tranquillité. Les acteurs passionnent par une danse évoquant la rencontre et le départ. Les images s’enchaînent de manière poétique et avec humour. De la pure simplicité alternée avec le bon rythme du slapstick et la lenteur d’une danse abstraite.

 

Au début il n’y a rien.
Juste un peu de bric-à-brac.
Du néant découle quelque chose.
Tout naît. 
Tout est né.
Un garçon. 
Une fille.
Qui l’emmène dans un rêve.
Un rêve plein de chandailles. 
Où ils adorèrent se cacher. 
Ensemble.

 

“Enfants et adultes sont accrochés pendant 40 minutes. Une pièce merveilleuse, riche en sens, tant dans les images que dans les mouvements”.

Tuur Devens, Theatermaggezien

 

CREDITS

Concept et mise en scène: Jelle Marteel
Interprètes: Simon D’huyvetter ou Ezra Fieremans et Julie Kurris ou Anjana Dierckx
Coach: Frans Van der Aa
Photos: Els Deventer

 

 

Jelle Marteel à propos de Quoipaspeut

 L’idée originelle était “réalité versus rêve”. Une enquête sur ce qui se passe quand l’univers onirique s’incruste dans la réalité. Cette idée a évolué vers la création d’un monde abstrait avec des objets surréalistes. On ne distinguait plus le rêve de la réalité.

On s’est inspiré des oeuvres d’art d’Erwin Wurm et des films de Michel Gondry. On n’a pas essayé d’en faire une histoire cohérente mais plutôt de créer une succession d’images sans paroles, et chaque image raconte une histoire qui peut toucher le public. Des objets familiers interagissent avec des personnages. Mais tout est suggestion. Non explicité. Non défini. Tout est susceptible d’interprétation et d’imagination. 

Le fil rouge se résume à “rencontre” et “départ”. Entre personnages et entre personnages et objets. J’aspire à un jeu vulnérable avec de l’humour qui émeut et surtout: une envie de simplicité. Une simplicité qui n’est pas insensée mais très riche et intense.

persfotos

foto bestandsnaam filesize  
4hoog_wanikan-2-c-els-deventer.jpg 0 MB download
4hoog_wanikan-1-c-els-deventer.jpg 0 MB download
(2)4hoog_wanikan-5-c-els-deventer.jpg 0 MB download
4hoog_wanikan-4-c-els-deventer.jpg 0 MB download
4hoog_wanikan-3-c-els-deventer.jpg 0 MB download

Tournee